Written By: MEAC Media Relations         Release: 03/04/2010
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Morgan State senior guard Corin Adams was named the 2010 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Player of the Year as announced by the conference on Thursday. Howard's Saadia Doyle was selected as Rookie of the Year and Hampton's Quanneisha Perry garnered the Defensive Player of the Year honor. Bethune-Cookman Head Coach Vanessa Inge was named the MEAC Coach of the Year. All awards are voted on by the conference's head women's basketball coaches and sports information directors.

Corin Adams led the conference and ranked 16th in the nation with 19.1 points and eighth in the nation with 3.3 steals per game. The MEAC Preseason Player of the Year guided her team to a 16-12 record and 11-4 mark in the MEAC, with one game remaining in conference play. Adams ranks among the top 15 in the MEAC in eight statistical categories and led her team in points, assists and steals. She was second on the team in total blocks (17) and third in rebounds per game (4.1). The senior is Morgan State's all-time leading scorer, male or female, with 2,012 career points. She is also the record holder for the Morgan State women's basketball program in steals (386) and assists (449)

Saadia Doyle averaged a double-double of 17 points and 10.9 rebounds to aid her team to 10-5 conference record and 15-12 overall mark. The rookie led the conference in rebounding and ranked among the top ten in field goal percentage (45.7), free-throw percentage (76.0) and minutes played (34.1). The forward is ranked 15th nationally in rebounding and fifth with 18 double-double finishes. 

Quanneisha Perry averaged 9.1 rebounds and totaled 82 blocks in 26 games. The junior recorded 10 double-double performances during the regular season to aid her team to a 16-11 overall record and 11-4 mark in the MEAC. She tied a MEAC season high 19 rebounds in conference play against Florida A&M. Offensively, she added 12.8 points while shooting 41-percent from the field and 74-percent from the free-throw line.

Vanessa Inge earned Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Bethune-Cookman Lady Wildcats to 15-13 mark and 9-6 record in conference play, including an 8-1 record at home. In her second year at the helm, the Lady Wildcats tallied their highest win total since the 1987-88 season and secured their first winning season in eight years.

Adams and Perry are joined on the 2010 MEAC First-Team by Maryland Eastern Shore's April McBride, Zykia Brown of Howard, and North Carolina A&T's Ta'Wuana Cook.

The defending MEAC champion North Carolina A&T Lady Aggies clinched their third consecutive MEAC regular-season title with a 72-53 win over Coppin State (Feb. 27). The second time in school history, they also won three straight titles from 1987-1990. The Lady Aggies will enter the tournament as the number one seed and will face the winner of the No. 8/No. 9 matchup on Wednesday, March 10 at 12:30 p.m.

Hampton (11-4), Morgan State (11-4) and/or Howard (10-5) could finish the season as the conference's runners-up or with a share for the title based on the outcome of tonight's games.

The 2010 regular season champion, regular-season runners-up, first-team members and top honorees including Player, Rookie, Defensive and Coach of the Year selections, will be recognized in pre-game presentations prior to their first games of the 2010 MEAC Basketball Tournament which spans March 9-13 at the Joel Coliseum in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

For Tournament information, log on to For the latest on MEAC athletics, visit

Stay Connected
Russell Athletic
Towne Bank
Freedom Automotive