MEAC to Retain NCAA FCS Automatic Qualifying Bid
Written By: MEAC Media Relations         Release: 03/17/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference's Council of Chief Executive Officers (CCEOs) reaffirmed its position to compete in the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) postseason championships and retain the conference's automatic qualification for the MEAC football champion.  The presidents and chancellors expressed their views that the caliber of talent among the student-athletes and coaches in the MEAC football program were among the best in the NCAA football championship subdivision and, therefore, would allow them to compete with anybody in the nation.

The Council stated that the MEAC football champion will not compete in any post season football bowl game and can and will continue to compete at the FCS highest level.

All questions regarding this matter should be directed to the conference's media relations office.

About the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC)

The MEAC is a NCAA Division I athletic conference and competes at the FCS level in football.  The MEAC has had an automatic qualifying bid to the NCAA FCS postseason championship in football since 1996.  The FCS is the highest level of college football with a playoff.

Founded in 1969, the MEAC is comprised of 13 outstanding historically black institutions across the Atlantic coastline:  Bethune-Cookman University, Coppin State University, Delaware State University, Florida A&M University, Hampton University, Howard University, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Morgan State University, Norfolk State University, North Carolina A&T State University, North Carolina Central University, Savannah State University, and South Carolina State University.

Stay Connected
Russell Athletic
Towne Bank
Priority Automotive