NCATís Mayhew Named to Walter Payton Watch List
Written By: MEAC Media Relations         Release: 07/11/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
On the strength of a season where he became just the sixth different North Carolina A&T running back to rush for 1,000 yards in a single season, Mike Mayhew has earned a spot on the prestigious Walter Payton Watch List for the upcoming 2011 season.

The Payton award will celebrate its 25th anniversary this season by recognizing the most outstanding football player in Division I-FCS at the national awards banquet on January 5, 2012 in Frisco, Texas. More than 200 sports information directors, media relations directors and media members will select the winner.

The Sports Network announced its 2011 Walter Payton Watch List on Monday with Mayhew being among 20 players with a chance to join Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, Brian Finneran, John Friesz and Armanti Edwards as past winners of the award.

After sharing the running back duties during in his first season as an Aggie, Mayhew broke away from the pack to become an elite MEAC running back in 2010. He was second in the conference in rushing, and earned All-MEAC first-team honors after rushing for 1,082 yards and seven touchdowns. His 2010 season marked the fifth-best single-season rushing performance by an Aggie in school history.

The Sports Network is not the only organization with an eye on Mayhew. The College Football Performance Award Watch List also recognized Mayhew. The CFPA awards the best player at each position in FCS football. CFPA also names an offensive, defensive and rookie of the year. D'Vonte Graham, who led the MEAC in interceptions last season, earned preseason recognition from CFPA as a defensive back. Torrian Warren and Justin Ferrell are the other two Aggies on the CFPA Watch Lists. Both players made it as kick returners.

Four Aggies, including Mayhew, also made the HBCU Bowl All-Star Game Watch List. Joining Mayhew were Ferrell, wide receiver Wallace Miles and offensive guard Alex Harper. The Aggies open the 2011 season against Virginia University of Lynchburg on Saturday, September 3 at Aggie Stadium at 4 p.m.

Stay Connected
Russell Athletic
Towne Bank
Priority Automotive