Bethune-Cookman to face Coastal Carolina in FCS Championship

Courtesy: Associated Press
          Release: 11/18/2012
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: MEAC Media Relations

NORFOLK, Va. - The 2012 MEAC football champion Bethune-Cookman University will host Coastal Carolina University in the first round of the 2012 NCAA Division I Football Championship on Saturday, Nov. 24, as announced Sunday by the NCAA Division I Football Championship Committee.

The game will be played at the Municipal Stadium in Daytona Beach, Florida beginning at 2 p.m.  The game will broadcast live on

The Wildcats will be making its second appearance in three years in the Division I FCS Playoffs.  No. 22 Bethune-Cookman earned the MEAC's automatic berth to the playoffs with an unblemished conference record of 8-0 and 9-2 overall mark. 

This is the third time that the Wildcats have served as host of a Division I FCS playoff game.  B-CU hosted New Hampshire in 2010 in the second round and Florida Atlantic in 2003.   

"We're happy and excited to be lining up against a team like Coastal Carolina," said B-CU third-year head coach Brian Jenkins. "We need to be consistent, operate our scheme and continue to play good, sound defense like we have all season."

Coastal Carolina finished the season with a 7-4 overall record and 5-1 in the Big South.  The Chants captured the Big South's automatic berth after a 41-20 win over Charleston Southern to secure a share of the league's regular season title. 

"Coastal Carolina is a well-coached team, and I'm sure they will be prepared for this game," said Jenkins. "They play at a high level and are very talented. It's going to be a tough and exciting game."

The B-CU/CCU game will be the first meeting between the two and first time that the Wildcats will face a Big South opponent. 

The winner of the B-CU/CCU game will face the Old Dominion Monarchs in the second round of the playoffs on Saturday, December 1. The Monarchs are the number four overall seed and faced Norfolk State, the MEAC's 2011 regular season champion, in the first round last year.  ODU is one of 12 teams to earn an opening round bye. 

Ten conferences received automatic-qualifying berths: the Big Sky Conference, Big South Conference, Colonial Athletic Association, Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, Missouri Valley Football Conference, Northeast Conference, Ohio Valley Conference, Patriot League, Southern Conference and Southland Conference.





Official Live & On-Demand Audio and Video
Watch MEAC Video
2015 MEAC Football Press Luncheon
Jul 31, 2015
2015 MEAC Football Press Luncheon
Delaware State at  Morgan State
Oct 29, 2012
Delaware State at Morgan State
South Carolina State at Florida A&M on ESPNU
Oct 23, 2012
South Carolina State at Florida A&M on ESPNU
Hampton at North Carolina Central on ESPNU
Oct 22, 2012
Hampton at North Carolina Central on ESPNU