B-CU's Larry Little to Enter Black College Football Hall of Fame
Written By: MEAC Media Relations         Release: 01/16/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Bethune-Cookman University football great Larry Little has been selected as one of 11 members to be inducted into the 2013 Black College Football Hall of Fame class announced this week.

The newest members were selected from a list of 35 finalists who had been determined earlier this year by the Black College Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee comprised of journalists and former football executives from around the country. Former inductees also submitted their votes in an effort to determine who will join this elite group of pioneers who have significantly impacted college football. 

Larry Little, a former offensive lineman and coach at Bethune-Cookman College (now University), played as an offensive guard for the Wildcats from 1963-66, eventually signing as an undrafted player in the National Football League (NFL) following the 1967 NFL Draft. He also coached for the Wildcats from 1983-91, later coaching at North Carolina Central University from 1993-98. He led the Wildcats to two Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) titles in 1984 and ’88, respectively. 

As a player in the NFL, Little played two seasons for the San Diego Chargers from 1967-68, before moving on to the Miami Dolphins for the 1969 campaign. Following the 1969 playing season, he would be named as an AFL All-Star, continuing his career with the Dolphins through the 1980 season. His career stretched 183 total games, including 157 starts along the offensive line, mainly at the guard position.

Little was a key contributor to the success of the Dolphins' punishing running attack of the early and mid-1970s, which featured Larry Csonka, Mercury Morris, Paul Warfield and Jim Kiick. On December 16, 1993, Little was added to the Miami Dolphins Honor Roll.


He was named as an All-NFL First Team member from 1971 through 1975, and again in 1977. For three consecutive years, Little was named the NFL Players Association’s AFC Lineman of the Year.


In 1999, he was ranked number 79 on The Sporting News’ list of the 100 Greatest Football Players. He was a five-time Pro Bowl selection (1970, ’72, ’73, ’74 and ’75); in addition to playing on two Super Bowl championship teams with the Dolphins in Super Bowl VII and VIII.


In 2007, he was named to the Florida High School Association All-Century Team which selected the Top 33 players in the 100 year history of high school football in the state of Florida.


The crowning achievement of his career might have been being inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1993 class) in Canton, Ohio, as well as being inducted into the first Bethune-Cookman University Athletic Hall of Fame class.


Joining Little in this year’s class are the following: Elvin Bethea (OLB, North Carolina A&T, 1964-67); Charles Brackins (QB, Prairie View A&M, 1951-54); Joe Gilliam, Jr. (QB, Tennessee State, 1968-71); Ken Houston (DB, Prairie View A&M, 1964-67); Charlie Joiner (WR, Grambling State, 1965-68); Ed “Too Tall” Jones (DL, Tennessee State, 1970-73); Shannon Sharpe (TE, Savannah State, 1986-89); Jackie Slater (OL, Jackson State, 1973-76); John “Big John” Merritt (Head Coach, Tennessee State, 1953-83) and Charlie Neal (long time commentator for Black College Football).


The inductees will be honored February 16, 2013 at the Loews Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia at the Black College Football Hall of Fame's Fourth Annual Enshrinement Ceremony presented by the Atlanta Falcons. The NFL Network's Steve Wyche will serve as Master of Ceremonies for the Enshrinement Ceremony. For more information please visit


For the complete story, visit

Stay Connected
Priority Automotive