MEAC Announces Baseball Academic Honors

Courtesy: MEAC Media Relations
          Release: 05/17/2017
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: MEAC Media Relations

NORFOLK, Va., May 16, 2017—The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) has announced the 2017 Baseball All-Academic Selections, honoring 96 student-athletes from the conference's nine baseball institutions who achieved academic success during the 2016-17 academic year.

MEAC sophomore, junior and senior student-athletes with a 3.0 or better cumulative grade point average (GPA), as well as transfer student-athletes who have been in residence at the institution for at least one year, are eligible for All-Academic accolades.

“I would like to congratulate our baseball student-athletes who have maintained a 3.0 or better grade point average during this academic school year,” said Commissioner Dr. Dennis E. Thomas. “In addition to recognizing the student-athletes' achievements, I also commend the institutions' academic support staffs, coaches and parents for their support in the success of these student-athletes both on the field and in the classroom.”

Listed below are the 2016-17 Baseball All-Academic honorees (by institution):

Bethune-Cookman (11)
Brandon Amendolare
Samuel Brooks
Joseph Calamita
Ivan Coutinho
Charles Eytel
Adonis Lao
Donte Lindsay
Daniel Melgarejo
Cole Parks
Demetrius Sims
Jordan Stacy

Coppin State (11)
Daniel Alvarez
Carlos Alviarez
Clinton Arnold
Erik Crossman
Joshua Doyle
Caleb Duhay
Brett Helmbrecht
Nazier McIlwain
Devin Ozuna
Ryan Palardy
Jahmon Taylor

Delaware State (14)
Jacob Bartlett
Austin Bentley
Garrett Coverdale
Lane DeLeon
Travis Dill
Todd Henry
Adrian Hill
Kyle Mace
Darnell Maisonet
Chris Mako
Sean McGrath
Darrien Ragins
Evan Regez
Gabe Rivera

Florida A&M (10)
Melvin Durden
Ben Ellzey
Hunter Fillingim
Jamie Grant
Chase Jarrell
Dexter Martin
Jacky Miles Jr.
Travis Richardson
Danilo Rodriguez
Kolton Russ

Maryland Eastern Shore (11)
Isaiah Chambers
Dallas Culotta
Dominic DeBlasie
Tyler Friis
Toby Hoskins
Jordan Martin
Christopher Melrath
Zach Mills
Joseph Nicastro
Jamison Trower
Jordan Wesley

Norfolk State (9)
Brian Beard
Justin Burrell
Christopher Ford
Justin Hayes
Devin Hemmerich
Ismael Herrera
Syeed Mahdi
Michael Parmentier
Terrence Pinkston

North Carolina A&T State (14)
Joshua Bottenfield
Kyle Clary
Will Greene
Joseph Hill
Perry Hunt
Leon Hunter
Forest Kimbrell
Jason King
Leland Maddox
Adan Ordonez
Robert Peck
Milton Rivera
Matthew Stanley
Kaesen Wilson

North Carolina Central (9)
Jonathon Figueroa
Landon Fraley
Christian Gonnelli
Joshua Greene
Andrew King
Carter Kovalcik
Conrad Kovalcik
Justice Sampson
Devin Sweet

Savannah State (7)
Jalen Atterbury
Bernard Barnes
Jacob Lightle
Trevor McKenna
Shawn Sausville
Gregory Smith
Charles Wilson



Official Live & On-Demand Audio and Video
Watch MEAC Video
Week 4 - 2017 - Jerry Mack - NCCU
Sep 20, 2017
Week 4 - 2017 - Jerry Mack - NCCU
Week 4 - 2017 - Rod Broadway - NCAT
Sep 20, 2017
Week 4 - 2017 - Rod Broadway - NCAT
Week 4 - 2017 - Buddy Pough - SCSU
Sep 20, 2017
Week 4 - 2017 - Buddy Pough - SCSU
Week 4 - 2017 - Erik Raeburn - Savannah State
Sep 20, 2017
Week 4 - 2017 - Erik Raeburn - Savannah State