Bethune-Cookman Wins 2012 Baseball Championship Tournament

Courtesy: Associated Press
          Release: 05/20/2012
Files available Print RSS

Bethune-Cookman won the 2012 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Baseball Championship title with a 8-3 victory over the Delaware State Hornets at Marty L. Miller Field on Saturday afternoon.

Delaware State won the first game, 3-2, to starve off elimination and force a second and deciding game in the double-elimination bracket.  The loss was the first in the tournament for the seven-time defending MEAC Champion Wildcats since the 2007 season.

Aaron Nardone and JP Frey led the Hornets with one run batted in each. As a team, DSU outhit B-CU 7-4 and scored three runs in the first inning to capture the victory.

Josh Johnson and Brashad Johnson each scored one run for the Wildcats.

Tommy Dill (3-1) allowed one hit and walked two in 3.1 innings. Jordan Elliot earned the save after pitching 2.0 innings.

Gabriel Hernandez took the loss allowing four hits, three runs (one earned) in 5.0 innings of action.

Bethune-Cookman got on the board first in the second game off a David Lee single to left side that scored Josh Johnson.

In the top of the third, Delaware State tied the game when Ryan Haas was hit-by a pitch with the bases loaded to score DJ Miller.
The Hornets added to their lead with runs by Troy Drummond and Cameron Cecil to go up 3-1.

The Wildcats answered back to tie the game at 3-all off another Lee single that scored Brandon Turner and Josh Johnson.  They scored again in the bottom of the fourth and the fifth to for the final score of 8-3.  

Lee was named the Outstanding Performer. He was 3-for 5 with four RBI in the championship victory. He recorded two runs, nine hits, two doubles and 11 RBI in the tournament.

Jason Beverlin earned Outstanding Coaching honors for the first time in his career.

With the victory, Bethune-Cookman earned the conference's automatic qualification to the NCAA Baseball Championship. The pairings will be announced on Monday, May 28 at Noon on ESPNU.

2012 MEAC Baseball All-Tournament Team
Karim Gonzalez, Maryland Eastern Shore
Bryon Campbell  , Maryland Eastern Shore
Stephen Bull, Maryland Eastern Shore
Tyler Murphy, North Carolina Central
Troy Marrow, North Carolina Central
Luke Tendler, North Carolina A&T
Ryan Haas, Delaware State
Scott Davis, Delaware State
Tony Gatto, Delaware State
Rayan Gonzalez, Bethune-Cookman
David Lee, Bethune-Cookman

Outstanding Performer: David Lee, Bethune-Cookman
Outstanding Coach:  Jason Beverlin, Bethune-Cookman



Official Live & On-Demand Audio and Video
Watch MEAC Video
Howard at Maryland Eastern Shore Highlights
Feb 02, 2016
Men's Basketball
Howard at Maryland Eastern Shore Highlights
Men's Basketball: Hampton at North Carolina Central
Jan 19, 2016
Men's Basketball
Men's Basketball: Hampton at North Carolina Central
2015 Inaugural Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl Highlights
Dec 21, 2015
2015 Inaugural Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl Highlights
2015 MEAC Volleyball Championship Highlights
Nov 24, 2015
2015 MEAC Volleyball Championship Highlights