MEAC Announces 2010-11 All- MEAC Men's Basketball Honors
Written By: MEAC Media Relations         Release: 03/03/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

2010-11 All-MEAC Men's Basketball Honors

Bethune-Cookman junior C.J. Reed was named the 2011 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Player of the Year as announced by the conference on Thursday. Delaware State's Casey Walker was selected as Rookie of the Year and Norfolk State's Kyle O'Quinn garnered the Defensive Player of the Year honor. Bethune-Cookman head coach Clifford Reed was named the MEAC Coach of the Year. All awards are voted on by the conference's head men's basketball coaches and sports information directors.

C.J. Reed led the conference and ranked 37th in the nation with 19.4 points per game and 38.5 minutes per game. The 2009 MEAC Rookie of the Year guided the Wildcats to a 19-11 record and 12-3 mark in the MEAC, with one game remaining in conference play. Reed leads his team and ranks second in the MEAC in steals (53) and fourth in free-throw percentage (81.0). The junior recorded double-digit scoring performances in 29 of 30 games played, including five straight 20-plus point games.

Casey Walker averaged 13.5 points and 3.1 rebounds to aid the Hornets to a 5-10 conference record and 9-19 overall mark. He ranks second in the conference in 3-point field goals made, ninth in 3-point field goal percentage and 12th in points per game The rookie leads his team in points (378) and made 3-pointers (70) and was second on the team in blocked shots (18) and third in rebounds (87).

Kyle O'Quinn averaged 10.7 rebounds and totaled 90 blocks in 28 games for the Spartans. The junior recorded 15 double-double performances, which ranks 14th in the nation, during the regular season to aid his team to a 9-19 finish and 7-8 mark in the MEAC. O'Quinn leads the conference with 214 rebounds and is seventh in the nation with 10.7 rebounds per game.  Offensively, he added 16.2 points while shooting 55-percent from the field and 76-percent from the free-throw line.

Clifford Reed, who is his ninth year at the helm of the Wildcats, guided Bethune-Cookman to their first-ever MEAC regular season title with a 12-3 record in MEAC play and 19-11 mark overall. Under his tutelage, the Wildcats were among the top three in the MEAC in field goal percentage, scoring defense, free-throw percentage and rebounding defense. 

Clifford Reed and C.J. Reed became the first father and son duo to earn All-MEAC top honors during the same season.

Reed and O'Quinn are joined on the 2011 All-MEAC First-Team by Hampton's Darrion Pellum, Morgan State's Dewayne Jackson and North Carolina A&T's Thomas Coleman.

The defending MEAC champion Bethune-Cookman Wildcats clinched the MEAC regular-season title on Monday with a 73-60 non-conference win against North Carolina Central and a Morgan State loss to North Carolina A&T.  The Wildcats will enter the tournament as the number one seed and will face the winner of the No. 8/No. 9 matchup on Wednesday, March 9 at 7 p.m. 

The 2011 regular season champion, regular-season runners-up, first-team members and top honorees including Player, Rookie, Defensive and Coach of the Year selections, will be recognized in pre-game presentations prior to their first games of the 2011 MEAC Basketball Tournament . Tournament play tips-off March 8-12 at the Joel Coliseum in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Stay Connected
Russell Athletic
Towne Bank
Freedom Automotive